Jan
yet another one, this time a screenshot
Fri Jan 15, 2010 05:40
99.150.207.42

Hi Tamara,

The user reported an attack from: http://antispyunderware.com/hitin.php?land=20&affid=93001

AND, they sent along a screenshot of the post they were viewing at the time it happened which shows both ad spaces are from "SNAP LINKADS". The ads themselves are plain text links (so it seems from what I see in the screen shot).

The first ad says (each word/set of words appear to be hot links):
Chapter 7, Photography Lessons, Boston Red Sox Tickets,
Stripping, Chapter 13, Full Body Scan, Boarding School

The second ad says (each word/set of words appear to be hot links):
Boarding School, Stripping, New Chapters, Full Body Scan,
Boston Red Sox Tickets, Chapter 7, Photography Lessons


The article address: http://disc.yourwebapps.com/discussion.cgi?disc=179154;article=124525

I tried to reproduce getting those ads, and had no luck.

Jan

  • Re: additional infoTamara, Sat Jan 9 12:00
    I'm not sure what is happening based on that description. I've loaded quite a few pages from your DiscApp and so far I can't replicate the issue but I will keep trying. I would recommend that she run ... more
    • yet another one, this time a screenshot — Jan, Fri Jan 15 05:40
      • No screenshotTamara, Mon Jan 18 06:53
        I did not see a link to your screenshot. I have not been able to trigger that ad. Based on Google Safe Browsing, it seems like her AV software may be triggering a false positive for some reason.... more
        • screenshot(s) for two latest reportedJan, Tue Jan 19 01:50
          Wish I'd thought of this before, anyway here's links to the two latest occurances (the forum pages with the ads that were showing at the time the user got the redirect): 1/15/10:
          • Re: screenshot(s) for two latest reportedTamara, Tue Jan 19 11:16
            That ad is completely innocuous. It's just a text ad, nothing more. I was able to see the ad on your DiscApp using IE in Vista and it's just a text link. Her problem is coming from something that is... more
        • Don't think it's a false positiveJan, Mon Jan 18 17:08
          As it tried to take her to that site from the forum. Google safe browsing now says: Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer What seems to be common in a couple of ... more
          • Re: Don't think it's a false positiveTamara, Mon Jan 18 21:41
            According to Google Safesites: "Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days." Also from Safesites: Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further ... more
    • new additional infoJan, Mon Jan 11 12:54
      Another user tells me: "Just got bounced to another "dangerous" site: " And she follows up with: "I've scanned my own system several times, with both Trend Micro and Malwarebytes, and there is... more
      • Re: new additional infoTamara, Sat Jan 16 06:59
        Your DiscApp seems to have similar posts that other dog DiscApps do on our site and they have the same ads that your visitors see. I haven't been able to trigger what your visitor sees so far.
Click here to receive daily updates