This is the - est.1998
Wanderers enter B&B for first time since 2013/14
Mon Aug 12, 2019 17:00

The Club announced on Monday (12th August 2019) that Wanderers will compete in the Berks and Bucks Senior Cup for the first time since the 2013/14 season. A statement from the Club cites an increased squad size as a reason to re-enter the competition, although, at present, the squad size is still one lower than at the start of the 2014/15 season.

Wanderers first lifted what was a prestigious trophy in 1902 and a further 23 times as a non-League side – the 1990 victory being Martin O’Neil’s first trophy as Wycombe Manager. A further four triumphs were added in Wanderers’ Football League era, the most recent being 2012, by which time the competition had become very much a ‘second XI’ affair.

The statement to withdrawn from the competition in September 2014 read: "Wycombe Wanderers have reluctantly taken the decision not to enter into the Berks & Bucks Senior Cup for the 2014/15 season. Following consultation between the club’s management team, it was agreed that due to having a smaller squad than in previous seasons, Wanderers could not guarantee fulfilling these cup fixtures without jeopardising their league and national cup matches. The club would like to place on record that it continues to respect the heritage of the competition and will re-assess the situation ahead of the 2015/16 campaign."

At the start of the 2014/15 campaign the squad totalled 24 players (including 2 loans).

The statement from the Club to re-enter the competition for the 2019/20 season read:
“The [Club] withdrew from the competition ahead of the 2014/15 campaign as a result of carrying a small squad with no reserve, development or under-18 players at manager Gareth Ainsworth's disposal. However, with 23 players currently on the Wanderers' books, Ainsworth and chairman Trevor Stroud have made the decision to re-enter the club into the county cup.”

The 23 players currently on the books for the 2019/20 season, includes 2 loan players.

Read more via the twitter feed links below

Further reading:

2012 victory

2011 victory

2006 victory

2005 victory

and can we just mention again...

Click here to receive daily updates
Return to the front page of